Dr. Jampala joined TANA as a member in 1981 and has been a Life Member since 1990. He has been an active volunteer continuously all these years, serving TANA in various capacities, including as President (2015-2017) and Chairman of Board of Directors (2011-2013).  Currently, Dr. Jampala is serving on the TANA Board of Directors as a Director and acts as a resource person to the TANA exectuive team.

Dr. Jampala has been an active and influential collaborator with successive TANA administrations over the last two decades. Dr. Jampala played a very important and crucial role – without regard to any title or personal recognition – in designing, developing and implementing many of the activities that brought fame and recognition to TANA worldwide, including:

  • Organizing the first TANA Telugu Film Festival (1992)
  • Editing TANA Patrika (1992- 2004), making it into a respected magazine and effective communication vehicle between the membership and the leadership
  • Developing the first TANA Web Site (1995) to reach a new generation of members
  • Making available the first Telugu Font (Pothana fonts) freely in public domain(1995)
  • Developing Telugu Dictionaries On-line
  • Sponsoring the (, a compendium of information about Telugu writers.
  • Playing key roles in seven successful TANA Conferences
  1.           Advisor to the Convener and Editor of the Souvenir, Chicago 1995
  2.           Chairman for Programs and Events Committee, Cincinnati 1999
  3.           Chairman, Advisory Committee, Philadelphia 2001
  4.           Chairman, Advisory Committee, Washington, DC 2007
  5.           Deputy Coordinator, Chicago, 2009
  6.          Executive Vice-President, Detroit, 2013 and
  7.          President, St. Louis, 2015
  • Editing TANA Conference Souvenirs (1995, 1999 and 2009).
  • Producing/ coordinating acclaimed inaugural dance ballets for three TANA Conferences (Andhrula Charitra ఆంధ్రుల చరిత్ర 1999 Cincinnati; Saampradaya Vinyaasam– Saamkethika Vikaasam సాంప్రదాయ విన్యాసం– సాంకేతిక వికాసం , Chicago 2009; TANA Culture of Service, Detroit, 2015; ఎల్లలు లేని తెలుగు ఎప్పటికీ వెలుగు, St. Louis, 2017)
  • Chairing TANA Publications Committee (1997-2015), responsible for TANA’s support of Katha volumes and other publications in India, and translations of Modern Telugu Poetry and Kanyasulkam into English
  • Organizing and judging TANA Novel and Short Story Competitions (1995-2005, 2017, 2019)
  • Organizing the TANA Telugu Children’s Literary Competitions (2017,2019, 2021)
  • Designing the first TANA Janapada Kalotsavaalu (1999) which evolved to become the biennial Chaitanya Sravanti events in India
  • Initiating TANA’s Telugu Without Boundaries (ఎల్లలు లేని తెలుగు) project for preservation and propagation of among Telugus living outside the two Telugu states
  • Developing the TANA Raithu Kosam (రైతు కోసం) project to aid and sustain the farmers in Telugu lands.
  • Establishment of TANA CARES program
  • Establishment of TANA Kalaasaala program for university diplomas in dance and music
  • Volunteering for TANA TEAM Square from its beginning in 2008;
  • Writing and propagating TANA TEAM Square Safety Guidelines for Students and Visitors
  • Participating in the Telugu Language Development Committee (since 1999) – activities include the Biennial Gidugu Ramamurthy Award
  • Designing TANA Telugu padavignaana (vocabulary) contests.
  • Organizing the successful Facebook campaign for Chase Grant for TANA (2012)
  • Chairing TANA Legal Committee and defending TANA successfully from legal challenges (2008-2009; 2017)
  • Designing the very successful  TANA-MAA TV Super Singer -3 contest (2009)
  • Designing and Conducting the NORTH AMERICAN SUPER SINGER competitions (2009) 
  • Master of Ceremonies for the inaugural sessions of TANA Conferences (2007, 2011) 
  • Updating the Bylaws of TANA (2009, 2010, 2015, 2017, 2019,2021)
  • Trustee (2007-2011);
  • Chairman, TANA Board of Directors (2011-2013)
  • Executive Vice-President (President Elect) (2013-2015)
  • President (2015-2017)
  • Past-President (2017-2019)
  • Director (2019 – present)